Home > MB Herald May 2008 > People and Events > Transitions

Eastview Community Church, Winnipeg, welcomed Delbert Enns as senior pastor May 1. He previously served as executive director of Family Life Network. ____________________________________________________________________

Portage Avenue Church, Winnipeg, welcomed Edgar French as pastor of outreach in March. Edgar earned his BTh after studying at Emmanuel Bible College in Kitchener, Ont. and Canadian Mennonite University in Winnipeg. He is currently working on an MDiv at the University of Winnipeg. Always active in Christian service, Edgar has been a volunteer for Living Bible Explorers, a guest preacher at Lockport Community Church, and a support worker for Hope Centre. He and his wife Rachel Poysti have one son, Josiah.

The Canadian Conference of MB Churches has appointed Daniel Beutler as full-time associate in equipping churches effective July 1. Based in Calgary, Daniel will work closely with Alberta’s executive minister, Merv Boschman, and serve in two areas: facilitating church revitalization and resource coordination. Daniel is currently the pastor of Linden (Alta.) MB Church and has an MDiv, MTS (counselling), and DMin from ACTS Seminary in Langley, B.C. He and his wife Maureen have two children, Deborah and Samuel.

Dwayne Barkman will conclude 19 years of ministry as lead pastor of West Portal Church, Saskatoon, July 31.

Clarence Peters has resigned as lead pastor of Waldheim (Sask.) MB Church after 17 years of ministry, effective July 31.

After more than 9 years of ministry, John Klassen will conclude his term as lead pastor of Glenbush (Sask.) MB Church on Aug. 31.

On April 30, Josinaldo Almeida concluded his pastoral ministry at Prairie Winds Church, Moose Jaw, Sask., where he served as church planter/pastor since the church was birthed 6 years ago.

Ron Hewitt recently concluded his formal service as volunteer pastor of Emmanuel Community Church, Pierceland, Sask. Although he still lives in the community, Ron is now working in Edmonton and unable to commit his weekends to ministry in the church. A team from Northwest Community Church in Meadow Lake goes to Pierceland to minister one Sunday each month.

Jason Unruh has resigned as youth pastor of Parliament Community Church, Regina, Sask., effective at the end of June.

Daniel Williams completed his assignment as senior pastor of Fourth Avenue Bible Church, Niverville, Man. on Apr. 15. He is praying about future ministry opportunities.

Terry Goertzen will conclude his ministry as senior pastor at Jubilee Mennonite Church, Winnipeg, at the end of June, after 11 years of ministry.

The Meeting Place, Winnipeg, recently said goodbye to two pastors, Doris Neufeld and Gerry Goertzen.

Lorlie Barkman has been hired as interim pastor of Elm Creek (Man.) MB Church.

Tim Wiebe resigned as youth pastor of Bakerview MB Church, Abbotsford, B.C. in March, after more than 8 years of ministry. He recently purchased a small business. Shannon Storey has been hired as interim director of youth ministries. She has just returned from a one-year mission term in Zambia.

Baptisms and new members

Note: Baptism photos appear in the print version of the Herald but not in the online version.

Dalhousie Community Church, Calgary, welcomed 2 new members by baptism Feb. 3. Pictured are (l-r) pastor Brad Huebert, Gavin Warburton, Lindsay Dueck, and pastor Tom Mulhern.

Yarrow (B.C.) MB Church welcomed 1 new member by baptism Jan. 13. Pictured are (l-r) pastor Eldon Fehr, sponsor Blake Gooch, Andrew Isaak, pastor Ike Bergen.

Southridge Community Church, St. Catharines, Ont., welcomed 10 new members by baptism Mar. 16: Kellie Ukrainetz, Irene Lozynska, Michael Hogeterp, Billy Good, Daniel Cavanagh, Enrique Wall, Zachary Shaw, Sarah Hogeterp, Wayne Morellato, and Richie Little.

Parliament Community Church, Regina, baptized Julie-Anne Johnston and welcomed her into membership Mar. 2.

Willow Park Church, Kelowna, B.C. welcomed 6 new members by baptism in March: Grant Bond, Judith Henrikson, Wayne Karachuk, Alisa Pranil, Tamara Robertson, and Don St. Pierre.

Bakerview MB Church, Abbotsford, B.C., welcomed 5 new members by baptism Feb. 24. Pictured are (back, l-r) pastor Tim Wiebe, Jordan Zacharias, and Karl Reimer; (front) pastor Michael Dick, Denee Nickel, Alyssa Zandbergen, and Laura Altenmueller.

South Abbotsford (B.C.) Church welcomed 3 new members by baptism Dec. 30. Pictured are (l-r) pastor David Manuel, pastor Jake Dyck, Sarbjit Sahota, Jasvir Sahota, pastor Harinder Sahota.

South Abbotsford (B.C.) Church welcomed 12 new members Jan. 26–27, 6 by baptism and 6 by transfer. Pictured are (back, l-r) John Tobin (t), Jason Helgason (b), Matt (t), and pastor Jake Dyck; (middle) Quinea Harder (b), Debbie Buhler (t), Leonard Buhler (t), and pastor Anne Dyck; (front) Jennifer Harder (b), Mikayla Janz (b), Kylie Janz (b), and Christie Neva (b). Missing are Lynn Harder (t) and Jacki Zurowski (t).

Forest Grove Community Church, Saskatoon, welcomed 11 new members Jan. 6–Feb. 24, 2 by baptism, 8 by confession of faith, and 1 by transfer. Pictured (in top photo) are (back, l-r) pastor Harry Strauss, Phil Friesen (cf), Mark Agar (cf), Ian Klassen (t), Josiah Chan (b), and Dick Trew (cf); (front) Madelaine Friesen (cf), Amber Reed (cf), Laura Laskowski (cf). Pictured (in bottom photo) are (l-r) Ruthanne Shewchuk (b), Carol Trew (cf), and Kevin Laskowski (cf).

St. Anns (Ont.) Community Church baptized Krista Vanderhout and welcomed her into membership Dec. 30. She is pictured with pastor Mike Hotson.

Central Community Church, Chilliwack, B.C., welcomed 8 new members Mar. 9, 1 by baptism and 8 by transfer. Pictured are (back, l-r) pastor Ron van Akker, Dwayne Hansen, Jen Hansen, pastor Garry Janzen, and Duncan White; (front) Don Kornelson, Elfrieda Kornelson, Tracee Kentala (b), Judy White, Peter Hamm, and Helen Hamm.

Kitchener (Ont.) MB Church welcomed 10 new members Mar. 23, 4 by baptism and 6 by transfer. Pictured are (l-r) moderator Harvey Goossen, pastor Alex Suderman, Melanie Allard (t), Ryan McNamara (t), Catriona Roy (b), Ewan Roy (b), Rachael Narimalla (b), Ronald Wooldridge (b), Sue Lanktree (t), Dave Lanktree (t), Amy Snider (t), Don Snider (t), and pastor Vidya Narimalla.
PrintShareText Size:Small TextMedium TextLarge Text